Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves

Black Forest Mountain Road

Schauinsland, Black Forest, Germany

Schauinsland literally translates as ‘look into the country’ and we now set off on a twelve kilometre climb to the top through a series of sharp twists and turns through hair pin bends and narrow gorges and as we climbed the temperature dropped to minus six, it started to snow and the road turned into a treacherous river of slush.

At one thousand, two hundred and ninety-five metres we reached the top and living in Lincolnshire that is about one thousand, three hundred metres higher than we are normally used to.  The top of the mountain was a place of winter pastimes and people were skiing down the slopes, children were sledging and families were walking together through the thick snow.  There were good views but the weather was getting worse and the snow even heavier and we were apprehensive about the drive back down so we didn’t stay too long.

Read the full story…

Schauinsland Black Forest Germany

10 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves

  1. This one instantly caught my eye, so quaint.

  2. I was there last year. Beautiful area.

  3. I’m especially enjoying this because it’s a lovely, warm summer day. But many years ago, I worked in Grindelwald one winter, so I don’t mind snow and I love the beauty of the mountains. Lovely picture and story.

    janet

  4. Snow, ice and roads bring a unique appreciation of curves, if you know what I mean.

  5. Hi Andrew,
    Wow! You really nailed these. Awesome contrast and of course, curves.

  6. Awesome shot, Andrew. And as usual, while I browse through all the weekly photo challenge shots, I think this is best. 🙂

Leave a comment